faq

Bienvenue dans notre FAQ! N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous avez des questions supplémentaires.

169_CIJ_FAQ_About-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote1-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote2-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote3-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote4-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote5-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg

Lorsqu’on adresse une dimension de discrimination, les autres dimensions ne sont-elles pas automatiquement comprises?

C’est-à-dire que lorsque l’on parle d’égalité de genre, toutes les femmes, de tout âge, statut socio-économique, race, ethnicité, religion et orientation sexuelle n’en bénéficient-elles pas?

 

En théorie oui, en pratique non. Le processus d’exclusion et de discrimination qui a lieu au sein de certains mouvements à beau ne pas être intentionnel, il produit néanmoins davantage d’inégalités systémiques et structurelles.

 

Quand bien même les catégories comme “femme”, “homosexuel” ou “minorité visible” sont hétérogènes et diverses, leurs narratifs et représentations archétypes ne le sont pas. Plutôt, les intérêts, histoires, et images qui l’emportent sont ceux des individus qui détiennent le pouvoir politique, économique et social le plus important. Par conséquent, les droits, intérêts et voix des minorités dans ces catégories ont tendance à être négligés et marginalisés.

 

Sans une approche intersectionnelle explicite, les politiques d’égalité des chances et d’anti-discrimination auront tendance à reproduire les schémas de discrimination qu’elles visent à éliminer, étant donné que les processus de discrimination structurelles se sont, au fils des années, infiltrés dans tous les domaines de la société, y compris le milieu de l’anti-discrimination et de la justice sociale.

N’est-il pas plus efficace de se concentrer sur une dimension de discrimination à la fois?

L’intersectionnalité ne vise pas à s’attaquer à toutes les formes de discrimination en même temps. En effet, ceci serait impossible. A la place, une approche intersectionnelle à la discrimination et aux inégalités cherche à identifier et à répondre aux processus de marginalisation et d’exclusion au sein d’efforts d’anti-discrimination qui se concentrent sur une unique dimension. Il est donc question de combattre la discrimination dans la discrimination, d’éliminer l’inégalité au sein de l’inégalité, et de protéger les minorités des minorités.

 

Par exemple, les inégalités au sein de la catégorie “femme” resteront invisibles à moins que l’on ne se distance de la dichotomie homme/femme à axe unique, pour inclure d’autres dimensions telles que la race, la religion, l’orientation sexuelle, le statut socio-économique, et l’identité de genre. De la même manière, les intérêts et besoins spécifiques des minorités raciales, ethniques ou religieuses présentent dans les mouvements LGBTQI* - les réfugiés LGBTQI*, par exemple - ne sont généralement pas adéquatement respectés, étant donné que leur expérience est elle-même marginalisée au sein du mouvement. Leur exclusion peut être attribuée au fait que leur culture et religion à tendance à être considérée incompatible avec leur orientation ou identité sexuelle. Reconnaître l’existence de ces inégalités et de ces processus de discrimination à l’intérieur de divers mouvements est la clé à une politique efficace - et à une légifération dans le domaine de l’égalité de genre et l’égalité des chances.  

 

Une approche intersectionnelle assure que person n’est mis de côté dans la lutte pour plus de justice et d’égalité. Elle assure que les communautés et les mouvements soit inclusifs des différences, et travaillent ensemble pour l’égalité. Elle prévient les efforts d’élimination d’une forme de discrimination au détriment d’une autre.

Comment ça marche, en pratique?

L’intersectionnalité est un concept relativement nouveau au sein des politiques publiques Européennes, et beaucoup de progrès est nécessaire dans la manière dont les lois et les politiques s’attaquent à l’inégalité et à la discrimination intersectionnelle, ainsi que leur implémentation. Une compréhension incomplète de ce que représente la discrimination intersectionnelle, ses mécanismes et ses conséquences, associée à la croyance que les catégories sont automatiquement inclusives des différences (c.f. Q4, par ex. que la catégorie “femme” est obligatoirement inclusive de toutes les femmes) mène à des réactions inadéquates à la discrimination intersectionnelle.  

 

Le Centre pour une Justice Intersectionnelle aspire à combler ces écarts en fournissant des moyens concrets et efficaces pour obtenir une justice intersectionnelle. Par exemple, implémenter des politiques d’égalité de genre visants à rectifier les écarts salariales entre hommes et femmes, sans pour autant accroître les inégalités entre femmes, ou assurer que les politiques de migration et d’asile - en particulier concernant le regroupement familial - ne retirent pas aux femmes migrantes leur autonomie et leur déterminant. Ceci peut être atteint à travers de la recherche politique approfondie, des plaidoiries directes, et des conseils politiques.  

Qu’est-ce que la justice intersectionnelle?

L’expression de “justice intersectionnelle” désigne la justice et équitable distribution de richesse, opportunités, droits et pouvoir politique au sein d’une société. Elle repose sur les concept d’équalité et de droits sociaux et légaux. La justice intersectionnelle vise l’entrecroisement/la réciprocité des privilèges, ou au contraire désavantages, strcturels, soit l’idée selon laquelle le privilège des un.e.s se nourrit du désavantage/préjudice/tort des autres. Dans cette perspective, il s’agit pour nous d’axer notre action sur les personnes ou groupes de personnes confrontées aux plus hauts degrés d’obstacles structurels de nos sociétés - d’après le principe selon lequel, se concentrer sur les personnes les plus structurellement touchées par les systèmes d’inégalités nous bénéficiera in fine tou.te.s.
 

Intersectional justice understands discrimination and inequality not as the outcome of individual intentions, but rather as systemic, institutional and structural. Therefore, intersectional justice can be achieved through the institutions that directly and indirectly allocate opportunities and resources, including the school system, the labour market, the health and social insurance system, taxation, the housing market, the media, and the bank and loan system.

Qu’est-ce que l’intersectionalité?

Le concept d’intersectionalité décrit la façon qu’ont les systèmes d’inégalités, basés sur le genre, la race, l’éthnicité, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité de genre, l’invalidité, la classe ou toute autre forme de discrimination, de s’entrecroiser, créant ainsi des dynamiques et conséquences précises et uniques. Par exemple, lorsqu’une femme musulmane portant un hijab est discriminée, il serait à la fois impossible et contre-productif de dissocier son identité de femme et son identité musulmane et d’isoler une unique dimension à l’origine de sa discrimination.

 

Toutes les inégalités systémiques sont interconnectées et se renforcent mutuellement : pour les neutraliser et empêcher qu’une inégalité n’en renforce une autre, elles doivent être considérées simultanément. Par exemple, prendre seulement en considération l’écart de rémunération entre hommes et femmes sans prendre en compte d’autres dimensions telles que celles de la race ou du statut socio-économique, aura tendance à renforcer les inégalités entre les femmes.

En procurant des outils pour démêler les ficelles qui composent le complexe réseau d’inégalités, le concept d’intersectionalité nous permet de développer une compréhension plus profonde des injustices systémiques et inégalités sociales. Ce concept est par ailleurs un outil qui, en pratique, peut être utilisé pour lutter légalement et politiquement contre les discriminations intersectionelles.

 

*Nous reconnaissons toutes les definitions, expressions et identités de genre et représentons toutes les personnes qui existent au-delà, à l’encontre et à l’extérieur de la binarité de genre. Ce que nous entendons par “femme et homme” n’est ni fixe, ni déterminé.

faq

Welcome to our FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have further questions, we will be glad to answer them.

169_CIJ_FAQ_About-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote1-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote2-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote3-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote4-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg 169_Quote5-00fe8f6014de4757895508397333714b06c16b686d2c65d12602ddb72b4de94c.jpg

When addressing one dimension of discrimination, aren’t other dimensions automatically included?

i.e. when addressing gender equality, doesn’t it benefit all women, of all ages, socio-economic backgrounds, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation?


In theory yes, in practice no. The processes of exclusion and discrimination occurring within movements may not be intentional, but they produce further systemic and structural inequalities.


While groups such as “women”, “gays”, “lesbians” and “people of color” are heterogeneous and diverse, the narratives and archetypes representing these groups are not. Instead, the interests, stories, and images that prevail are the ones of those who hold the greatest political, economic and social power. As a result, the rights, interests and voices of minorities within these categories tend to be overlooked and marginalised.


Without an explicit intersectional approach, equality and anti-discrimination policies will tend to reproduce the discrimination patterns they seek to address because processes of structural discrimination permeate all areas of society, including the fields of anti-discrimination and social justice.

Isn’t it more effective to focus on one dimension of discrimination at a time?

Intersectionality is not about tackling all forms of discrimination at once. This would, in fact, be impossible. Instead, an intersectional approach to discrimination and inequality seeks to identify and address processes of marginalisation and exclusion within anti-discrimination efforts that focus solely on one dimension. It is about fighting discrimination within discrimination, tackling inequalities within inequalities, and protecting minorities within minorities.


For instance, inequalities within the category “woman” will not become visible unless we move away from the single-axis dichotomy men/women to include further dimensions such as race, religion, sexual orientation, socio-economic status and gender identity. Similarly, the specific interests and needs of racial, ethnic and religious minorities within LGBTQI_ movements – say, LGBTQI_ refugees – are usually not adequately met because their experience is marginalized within the wider movement. Their exclusion can be attributed to the fact that their culture and religion tend to be considered as incompatible with their sexual orientation or identity. Acknowledging such inequalities and processes of discrimination within movements is the precondition for effective policy- and lawmaking in the field of gender equality and equal opportunity policies.


An intersectional approach ensures that no one is left behind in the fight for justice and equality. It ensures that communities and movements are inclusive of differences and work together towards equality. It prevents combating one form of discrimination at the expense of another.

How does it work in practice?

Intersectionality is a relatively new concept in European public policy and much progress is needed in the way policies and laws – and their implementation – address intersectional discrimination and inequality. An incomplete understanding of what constitutes intersectional discrimination, its workings and effects, coupled with the belief that categories are automatically inclusive of differences (see Q4, e.g. that the category “woman” is automatically inclusive of all women) leads to inadequate responses to intersectional discrimination.


The Center for Intersectional Justice seeks to fill these gaps by providing concrete and effective means to achieve intersectional justice. For example, implementing gender equality policies meant to correct the wage gap between men and women without widening inequalities between women, or ensuring that migration and asylum policies, especially with regards to family reunification, do not strip female migrants of their agency and autonomy. This can be achieved through in-depth policy research, direct advocacy and policy advice.

What legal and policy tools can be mobilised?

International conventions such as CEDAW and ICERD are useful tools to combat discrimination based on gender and race, but to date, there are no legally binding international and national instruments explicitly prohibiting intersectional discrimination.
Similarly, the European anti-discrimination legal framework does not adequately combat intersectional discrimination since the available legislation addresses one dimension at a time (either gender, or race, or sexual orientation, or…) and focuses on individual discrimination, as opposed to structural discrimination. It means that individual actions and intent play a decisive role, instead of looking at the aggregation of discrimination cases and their underlying patterns. As a result, there is a disconnect between anti-discrimination policy and legislation on one hand, and equal opportunity policy on the other.


An intersectional perspective to anti-discrimination highlights the structural aspect of discrimination and links policy efforts both meant to prevent discrimination and to correct inequalities.

What is intersectional justice?

Intersectional justice is the fair and equal distribution of wealth, opportunities, rights and political power within society. It rests on the concepts of equality, and legal and social rights. Intersectional justice focuses on the mutual workings of structural privilege and disadvantage, i.e. that someone’s disadvantage is someone else’s privilege. For this reason, actions tend to be centered on people and groups of people who face the highest structural barriers in society – premised on the idea that if we reach the people at the greatest structural disadvantage, then we can reach everybody.


Intersectional justice understands discrimination and inequality not as the outcome of individual intentions, but rather as systemic, institutional and structural. Therefore, intersectional justice can be achieved through the institutions that directly and indirectly allocate opportunities and resources, including the school system, the labour market, the health and social insurance system, taxation, the housing market, the media, and the bank and loan system.

What is intersectionality?

The concept of intersectionality describes the ways in which systems of inequality based on gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, class and other forms of discrimination “intersect” to create unique dynamics and effects. For example, when a Muslim woman wearing the Hijab is being discriminated, it would be impossible to dissociate her female* from her Muslim identity and to isolate the dimension(s) causing her discrimination.


All forms of inequality are mutually reinforcing and must therefore be analysed and addressed simultaneously to prevent one form of inequality from reinforcing another. For example, tackling the gender pay gap alone – without including other dimensions such as race, socio-economic status and immigration status – will likely reinforce inequalities among women.


Intersectionality brings our understanding of systemic injustice and social inequality to the next level by attempting to untangle the lines that create the complex web of inequalities. It is also a practical tool that can be used to tackle intersectional discrimination through policies and laws.


* We recognize a limitless range of gender identities and expressions, and embrace those of us who live beyond, against, and outside of the binary. What we mean by “women and men” is neither fixed nor determined.